PATRICK COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS 104 Rucker Street – P.O. Box 346 Stuart, Virginia 24171

Minutes for Special School Board Meeting EEOC/Nondiscrimination Committee Tuesday, July 7, 2020 2:00 p.m. Patrick County High School Auditorium 215 Cougar Lane Stuart, VA 24171

The Patrick County School Board EEOC/Nondiscrimination Committee met in special session on Tuesday, July 7, 2020 at 2:00 p.m. at Patrick County High School Auditorium, 215 Cougar Lane, Stuart, VA 24171.

Present: Mr. Walter L. Scott, Vice Chairman

Mr. Ryan Lawson Ms. Amy E. Walker

Mr. C. Dean Gilbert, Superintendent Ms. Sara Leigh D. Collins, Clerk

Absent: Mr. Brandon J. Simmons

Ms. Shannon R. Harrell

Mr. Scott, Vice Chairman, called the meeting to order.

No. 25578 Opening Ceremonies

- (a) Pledge of Allegiance (IEA)
- (b) Moment of Silence (IE)

No. 25579 Closed Session

Pursuant to Section 2.2-3712 (A) of the <u>Code of Virginia</u> and a motion by Mr. Lawson seconded by Ms. Walker that Patrick County School Board EEOC/Nondiscrimination Committee convene in a closed meeting at 2:05 p.m.

§2.2-3711(A)1 for discussion, consideration or interviews of prospective candidates for employment; assignment, appointment, promotion, performance, demotion, salaries, disciplining or resignation of employees of the School Board

Personnel Matter

Ayes: Lawson, Scott, Walker

Nays: None

On motion by Ms. Walker seconded by Mr. Lawson to come out of closed session at 2:50 p.m.

Ayes: Lawson, Scott, Walker

Nays: None

No. 25580 <u>Certification of Closed Session</u>

WHEREAS, the Patrick County School Board had convened a closed meeting of the date pursuant to an affirmative record vote and in accordance with the provisions of the Virginia Freedom of Information Act and

WHEREAS, Section 2.1-344 (D) of the Code of Virginia requires a certification by the Patrick County School Board that such closed meeting was conducted with Virginia Law;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Patrick County School Board hereby certifies that to the best of each member's knowledge, (1) only public business matters lawfully exempted from closed meeting to which this certification applies, and (ii) only such public businesses were identified in the motion convening the closed meeting were heard, discussed or considered.

Ayes (by Roll Call): Lawson, Scott, Walker

Nays: None

No 25581 2020-2 – Item 9

On motion by Ms. Walker seconded by Mr. Lawson that Employee Case #2020-2 pursuant to policy GB, the Equal Employment Opportunity Nondiscrimination Committee adopt the findings and recommends of the Compliance Officer with respect to Item 9 and that Mr. Walter L. Scott, Chairman of Committee, be authorized to issue a written decision on behalf of the committee.

Ayes: Lawson, Scott, Walker

Nays: None

No. 25582 Adjournment

On motion by Mr. Lawson seconded by Ms, Walker to adjourn at 2:55 p.m.

Ayes: Lawson, Scott, Walker

Nays: None

Walter L. Scott, Vice Chairman Patrick County School Board

Sara Leigh D. Collins, Clerk Patrick County School Board